Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Zest Awards Nominees in and Around Mount Druitt - St Marys - Mount Druitt Star

Here is the story from the St Marys  - Mount Druitt Star regarding Nominees for 2nd Annual Zest Awards:

We hope you enjoy it:

Our community's best

27 Feb, 2012 01:00 AM
THE best of the west will be at the second annual Greater Western Sydney Zest awards tomorrow (February 29).St Marys and Mt Druitt are well represented among 94 nominees in 15 categories across 15 western Sydney areas.
Nominees must have demonstrated zest, enthusiasm, strength and tenacity in the community service sector.
Winners will be announced at tomorrow's ceremony at the Grand Royale in Granville.

Blacktown Youth College teacher Dianne Knapton is one of six nominees in the Community Leader-Paid award, nominated by a student at the Bidwill-based school.

Mount Druitt Commuter Improvement Group president John Svoboda is one of five nominees in the Community Leader-Volunteer and Volunteer Group categories.

Fellow member Joan Forrester has been nominated for a Hall of Fame award, as has group secretary Wayne Lu for Out of the Box — one of two new categories.

Jennifer Beale is a Hall of Fame nominee for her work with Aboriginal organisation Butacarbin, at Hebersham, while Mission Australia Families NSW team leader Julia Jasprizza Laus could take home the partnership award for her work on the Paint Penrith Read program.

Shalvey teenager Blake Bardowski (pictured) is one of seven nominees in the Youth Leader category in recognition for campaigning for better public transport in Mount Druitt.

No comments:

Save Our Bus Services

Read our story on how we made it our priority to ensure bus services are re-instated from services taken away in 2009.